HELP SAVE GLEN EIRA’s TREES

Unlike all other Metro Melbourne Councils, Glen Eira does not have a significant tree register or a tree protection policy for trees located on private or public (ie. street or park) land.

Over the years, successive Glen Eira Councils, have considered introducing tree protection measures yet, except for the loss of more trees, nothing has been achieved.  GERA,  as per our 2015 posting -“Why doesn’t Glen Eira have a Significant Tree Resister or Tree Protection Strategy ‘, concluded this was because “Glen Eira Council, despite residents expressed wishes, doesn’t want either a Tree Register or Tree Protection Strategy”

Last October residents elected a new Council.

With the current development boom, significant trees located on private land are now seriously at risk – particularly as moonscaping seems to be the preferred first stage of redevelopment.

Mayor Mary Delahunty is currently seeking residents support to get a significant tree register added to the Community Plan at next Tuesday’s Council Meeting (27 June).

Although the register is still at the conceptual stage (ie. without detailed information on tree registration processes or criteria), GERA urges residents to support this initiative.  It is a long overdue first step in a many step process that finally shows Council recognises the importance of tree preservation for current and future generations.

You can register your support for a tree register by sending a letter or email to the Mayor (with a copy all Councillors).   Below is a sample letter/email

Subject:   Request for Significant Tree Register to protect trees on private land.

Too many old and gorgeous trees are being lost for more housing.  Glen Eira needs a significant tree register to protect trees on private land.  It is the right thing to do to keep our city green and environmentally friendly. I urge you to support the inclusion of a significant tree register in the Community Plan. 

Councillors names and email addresses

Cr Mary Delahunty (Mayor): MDelahunty@gleneira.vic.gov.au

Cr Jamie Hyams: JHyams@gleneira.vic.gov.au
Cr Jim Magee JMagee@gleneira.vic.gov.au
Cr Nina Taylor NTaylor@gleneira.vic.gov.au
Cr Margaret Esakoff: MEsakoff@gleneira.vic.gov.au
Cr Clare Davey: CDavey@gleneira.vic.gov.au
Cr Tony Athanasopoulos: TAthanasopoulos@gleneira.vic.gov.au
Cr Joel Silver: JSilver@gleneira.vic.gov.au
Cr Dan Sztrajt: DSztrajt@gleneira.vic.gov.au

Letters can be mailed to

Glen Eira Council at PO Box 42, Caulfield South 3162

Advertisements

Comments are closed.